The California State Athletic Commission (CSAC) said in a meeting Tuesday that Josh Thomson’s loss to Patricky Freire will not be overturned, but instead a footnote will be added to his record. The commission also acknowledged that a clash of heads that was initially missed by the referee did indeed occur before the finish.
Josh Thomson will have to keep his loss to Patricky Freire.
After having his appeal of his knockout loss to “Pitbull” denied by the California State Athletic Commission (CSAC) in May, Thomson was granted an in-person meeting Tuesday in Inglewood, CA to state his case further. But CSAC unanimously voted not to overturn Thomson’s loss to a no-contest, MMAFighting.com reported.
Thomson vs. Freire headlined Bellator 172 in San Jose, CA in February.
Just before Freire finished Thomson, a UFC lightweight veteran, with an uppercut, a clash of heads occurred. Thomson’s argument was that the head butt led to the finish and that had it not have happened, nor would have the knockout.
CSAC acknowledged that referee John McCarthy admitted to the commission that he did not see the clash of heads in real time, and only first saw it while watching the replay. But CSAC determined that the foul did not directly cause a stop to the fight — it was the legal strike from Freire — and therefore did not overturn the result, per CSAC executive officer Andy Foster.
Foster said the commission will likely add a footnote to Thomson’s record. The note will say a clash of heads that the referee initially missed did indeed occur. Thomson mocked the historic “asterisk” on social media, but Foster added notes on records are quite common in the Association of Boxing Commissions and Combative Sports (ABC)’s internal database.
“It’s so people can see the California commission has reviewed this fight, that they went through a formal process,” Foster said. “We do notes on people all the time. It’s for other people to know. Somebody might need to know this information someday and it’s important to have when people look.”