Web
Analytics

The Best Resource For Mixed Martial Arts MMA

GLORY 35 lineup finalized with a pair of matchups for heavyweight ‘Contender’ tournament

242 0

The lineup for the GLORY 35 fight card, which takes place at Palais Nikaia in Nice, France, is now complete with the addition of the two semifinal matchups in the night’s heavyweight “Contender” tournament.

Benjamin Adegbuyi (25-4) will face Hesdy Gerges (49-17-1) and Jahfar Wilnis (29-7-1) will square off with Mladen Brestovac (50-11-1). The kickboxing promotion announced the news in a press release on Tuesday (October 11, 2016).

GLORY 35 is headlined by a lightweight title bout between Sittichai Sitsongpeenong (112-29-5) and No.2-ranked contender Marat Grigorian (48-9-2).

Sitsongpeenong won the GLORY Lightweight title via split decision over Robin van Roosmalen at GLORY 31. Grigorian — currently the No. 2-ranked GLORY Lightweight — has won three fights in a row, including a first-round knockout over Djime Coulibaly back at GLORY 30.

In the co-main event, Zinedine Hameur-Lain (56-13) takes on Pavel Zhuravlev (69-11) in a light heavyweight scrap. Hameur-Lain is coming off his GLORY 32 “Contender” tournament victory back in July, where he knocked out Warren Thompson and Ariel Machado in the same night. Meanwhile, Zhuravlev lost to Machado in the opening round of the GLORY 32 tournament.

In the main event of the GLORY 35 Superfight Series, GLORY Light Heavyweight Champion Artem Vakhitov (16-5) will take on GLORY Interim Light Heavyweight Champion Zack Mwekassa (15-3) in a title unification bout.

GLORY 35 Nice airs live on ESPN3 at 4 p.m. ET / 1 p.m. PT on Saturday, November 5, 2016, and will replay on ESPN2 at 11 p.m. ET / 8 p.m. PT on Sunday, November 6.

….View full article

Source:: mma mania