The Best Resource For Mixed Martial Arts MMA

Hope Solo leads 2020 National Soccer Hall of Fame candidates

81 0

community news, Hope Solo leads 2020 National Soccer Hall of Fame candidates

Time for another insider column. Here’s what we’ve got this week:

Hope Solo leads new Hall of Fame candidates

This year’s list of eligible candidates for the National Soccer Hall of Fame will be released soon, and the list of newly eligible candidates is headed by Hope Solo, the goalkeeper who won one Women’s World Cup and two Olympic titles in a 17-year career with the U.S. women’s national team. Other new candidates include Hérculez Gómez, Mike Magee and Carlos Ruiz.

To be eligible for the Hall of Fame, a player needs to have been retired for at least three full calendar years. (Solo last played at the 2016 Olympics.) Any player named on at least 66.7% of voters’ ballots will be elected.

Solo would seem to be a shoo-in for election in her first year on the ballot, but keep in mind that the voting process has been tough on players. Abby Wambach, now the No. 2 all-time leading goal-scorer in international history, was the only player to reach the necessary threshold in 2019, and even Wambach got a surprisingly low vote percentage of 80.9%. Last year’s players who missed the cut included Carlos Bocanegra (64.6%), Steve Cherundolo (51.7%), David Beckham (42.1%), Shannon Boxx (42.1%), Kate Markgraf (41.6%) and Jaime Moreno (36.5%). All those players will be eligible again this year.

As SI’s Brian Straus noted last year, not a single foreign-born MLS player has made the cut.

Unless he comes out of retirement again, Landon Donovan will be eligible in 2023. (He last played in 2019 for the San Diego Sockers indoor team). Clint Dempsey will be eligible in 2022.

Source – link to original article