The Best Resource For Mixed Martial Arts MMA

Latest UFC rankings update: Conor McGregor and Khabib Nurmagomedov take over lightweight division

212 0

Ultimate Fighting Championship (UFC) recently tied a ribbon around the mega UFC 205 pay-per-view (PPV) event, which took place last Saturday night (Nov. 12, 2016) inside Madison Square Garden in New York, New York (results), featuring a lightweight main event title fight between now-former division champion, Eddie Alvarez, against Conor McGregor, the current UFC featherweight titleholder.

“Notorious” made history after stopping “The Underground King,” becoming the first man to ever hold two separate division title simultaneously (full video highlights here).

But that wasn’t all, Joanna Jedrzejczyk retained her strawweight strap after defeating Karolina Kowalkiewicz (relive it here), while Tyron Woodley did the same, holding on to his welterweight strap after fighting to a majority draw with Stephen Thompson.

Plus, Yoel Romero solidified his status as the next title contender in the middleweight division by knocking out former champion Chris Weidman with a flying knee (see it). With all the action going down in “The Empire State,” there was bound to be plenty of movement in the rankings.

Here’s what the latest ranking field looks like courtesy of UFC.com. Note: (+/- = movement in rankings, *NR = Not previously ranked).

1 Demetrious Johnson
2 Conor McGregor +2
3 Dominick Cruz -1
4 Daniel Cormier -1
5 Jose Aldo
6 Stipe Miocic
7 Joanna Jedrzejczyk +1
8 Tyron Woodley +1
9 Michael Bisping +1
10 Cris Cyborg +4
11 Robbie Lawler
12 Luke Rockhold
13 Amanda Nunes +2
14 TJ Dillashaw -1
15 Khabib Nurmagomedov *NR

Champion: Demetrious Johnson
1 Joseph Benavidez
2 Henry Cejudo
3 Jussier Formiga
4 Kyoji Horiguchi
5 Ian McCall
6 Wilson Reis
7 Zach Makovsky
8 Ali Bagautinov
9 John Moraga
10 Dustin Ortiz
11 Justin Scoggins
12 Louis Smolka +1
13 Brandon Moreno +1
14 Ray Borg +1
15 Sergio Pettis *NR

Champion: Dominick Cruz
1 TJ Dillashaw
2 John Lineker
3 Raphael Assuncao
4 Jimmie Rivera
5 Bryan Caraway
6 Cody Garbrandt
7 Urijah Faber
8 Aljamain Sterling
9 Michael McDonald
10 John Dodson
11 Thomas Almeida
12 Eddie Wineland
13 Johnny Eduardo
14 Takeya Mizugaki
15 Rani Yahya

Champion: Conor McGregor
1 Jose Aldo (Interim Champion)
2 Frankie Edgar
3 Max Holloway
4 Ricardo Lamas
5 Cub Swanson
6 Anthony Pettis ….View full article

Source:: mma mania