The Best Resource For Mixed Martial Arts MMA

Latest UFC rankings update: Karolina Kowalkiewicz rises, Robbie Lawler falls following UFC 201 in Atlanta

130 0

Ultimate Fighting Championship (UFC) recently tied a ribbon around its UFC 201 mixed martial arts (MMA) event, which took place last Sat. night (July 30, 2016) inside Philips Arena in Atlanta, Georgia (full results here), and there was a lot to talk about when all was said and done.

Tyron Woodley continued his quest to prove once and for all that he’s the best welterweight on the planet by knocking out Robbie Lawler in round one of their main event fight to capture the division crown (see it). The loss not only cost “Ruthless” his strap, but dropped him a staggering eight spots on the pound-for-pound list.

Karolina Kowalkiewicz solidified her spot as the next big contender in the women’s strawweight division by defeating Rose Namajunas in the co-main event (replay). And now she has a better ranking to prove it, moving up three spots to number two, only behind former title contender Claudia Gadelha.

That’s not all.

Here’s what the latest ranking field looks like courtesy of UFC.com Note: (+/- = movement in rankings, *NR = Not previously ranked).

1 Demetrious Johnson
2 Dominick Cruz
3 Daniel Cormier +3
4 Jon Jones -1
5 Conor McGregor +1
6 Jose Aldo +1
7 Eddie Alvarez +1
8 Joanna Jedrzejczyk +1
9 Stipe Miocic +1
10 Tyron Wooldey *NR
11 Michael Bisping
12 Robbie Lawler -8
13 Rafael Dos Anjos
14 Luke Rockhold -2
15 T.J. Dillashaw -1

Champion: Demetrious Johnson
1 Joseph Benavidez
2 Henry Cejudo
3 Jussier Formiga
3 Kyoji Horiguchi +1
5 Ian McCall
6 Wilson Reis +1
7 Zack Makovsky -1
8 Ali Bagautinov
9 Louis Smolka
10 John Moraga
11 Matheus Nicolau
12 Dustin Ortiz
13 Justin Scoggins
14 Ray Borg
15 Sergio Pettis

Champion: Dominick Cruz
1 TJ Dillashaw
2 Urijah Faber
3 Raphael Assuncao
4 Bryan Caraway
5 John Lineker
6 Aljamain Sterling
7 Michael McDonald
8 Cody Garbrandt
9 John Dodson
10 Thomas Almeida
11 Takeya Mizugaki
12 Eddie Wineland
13 Jimmie Rivera
14 Johnny Eduardo -1
15 Frankie Saenz

Champion: Conor McGregor
1 Jose Aldo (Interim Champion)
2 Frankie Edgar ….View full article

Source:: mma mania