The Best Resource For Mixed Martial Arts MMA

ONE results, videos: Geje Eustaquio scores walk-off spinning kick KO

78 0

Former flyweight champion Geje Eustaquio returned to the win column in devastating fashion at Friday’s ONE Championship: Masters of Fate in Manila, Philippines.

Looking to avenge a 2016 submission defeat to former title contender Toni Tauru, Eustaquio scored one of the best knockouts of 2019 in the third round, flooring Tauru with a spinning back kick to the liver.

The fight card was headlined by dominant ONE Championship strawweight king Joshua Pacio against Rene Catalan.

Both fighters went for heel hooks early in the opening round, and Catalan transitioned to a kneebar. But Pacio successfully defended the submission attempt, and he ended up on mount. They hit the ground again in the second round, but this time, the Filipino talent wasted no time getting to mount, and he locked in an arm-triangle choke that forced Catalan to tap.

In the co-main event, former lightweight titleholder Eduard Folayang looked to snap a two-fight skid against Tsogookhuu Amarsanaa. But an unintentional clash of heads at 2:08 of the second round resulted a big cut under Amarsanaa’s left eye.

The doctor stopped the contest, and Amarsanaa was declared the victor via technical decision.

The early portion of the show featured the return of Nong Stamp “Stamp Fairtex” to MMA against Bi Nguyen. The ONE Championship muay Thai champion put on an impressive performance throughout three rounds to win via unanimous decision, but the highlight of her night happened before she entered the cage.

Check some highlight-real finishes from the card, courtesy of Robin Catalan and Li Kai Wen, and the complete ONE Championship: Masters of Fate results below.

Joshua Pacio def. Rene Catalan via second-round submission (arm-triangle choke) (2:29)
Amarsanaa Tsogookhuu def. Eduard Folayang via technical decision (R2, 2:08)
Geje Eustaquio def. Toni Tauru via third-round knockout (2:11)
Stamp Fairtex def. Bi Nguyen via unanimous decision
Li Kai Wen def. Paul Lumihi via first-round knockout (2:39)
Yoshitaka Naito def. Pongsiri Mitsatit via unanimous decision
Robin Catalan def. Gustavo Balart via second-round knockout (4:443)
Jae Woong Kim def. Rafael Nunes via third-round TKO (0:38)
Kim Kyu Sung def. Akihiro Fujisawa via first-round knockout (1:08)
Roshan Mainam def. Khon Sichan via first-round submission (americana) (3:22)

Source – link to original article