The Best Resource For Mixed Martial Arts MMA

Rizin FF 8 Results and Video: Horiguchi advances to BWGP semis, McCall cut by ring rope

142 0

Kyoji Horiguchi gets another impressive win, while Ian McCall continues his streak of bad luck.

Opening night of Rizin’s two-day New Year’s Eve special has concluded, and four men have advanced to the bantamweight grand prix semifinals. All four fighters won by stoppage, with former UFC flyweight title contender Kyoji Horiguchi knocking out the much bigger Gabriel Oliveira in the main event.

Horiguchi was a top 5 flyweight in the UFC before he decided to sign a better deal and return to Japan. He has since gone 3-0 with Rizin, two of which have come from this tournament in a higher weight class.

Another former UFC flyweight title contender was on the tournament, with Ian McCall seemingly continuing his streak of insanely bad luck. After six straight cancelled UFC bouts due to various reasons, McCall was finally able to enter the ring to compete again. Unfortunately, his string of bizarre misfortunes continued.

McCall somehow sustained a cut from the ring ropes, and the fight was eventually stopped because of it. It led to an unfortunate TKO loss, and his opponent Manel Kape advanced to the semifinals in a match up against Horiguchi.

The opposite side of the bracket will be Takafumi Otsuka vs Shintaro Ishiwatari, with both men also picking up quality stoppage wins on the card.

The tournament continues Sunday. Check below for videos (courtesy of Fancy Combat) and results from the event.

Rizin FF 8 full results:

Kyoji Horiguchi def. Gabriel Oliveira via TKO (strikes), R1

Manel Kape def. Ian McCall via TKO (cut), R1

Shintaro Ishiwatari def. Kevin Petshi via KO (punch), R1

Takafumi Otsuka def. Khalid Taha via submission (guillotine), R3

Jiri Prochazka def. Karl Albrektsson via TKO (strikes) in R1

Cindy Dandois def. Reina Miura via split decision

Hiroyuki Takaya def. Battaryn Azjavkhlan via unanimous decision

Jae Hoon Moon def. Anthony Birchak via split decision

Kai Asakura def. Kizaemon Saiga via TKO (strikes), R2

Kana Watanabe def. Shizuka Sugiyama via unanimous decision

Kiichi Kunimoto def. Satoru Kitaoka via unanimous decision

Source – link to original article