Daniel Cormier needed two cracks to make 205 lbs at UFC 210. Here’s video if it, along with an explanation from the New York State Athletic Commission.
I don’t even know where to begin with what’s going on at UFC 210. Daniel Cormier seemingly lost his light heavyweight title on the scales, but just 2 minutes and 24 seconds after coming in at 206.2 lbs, he magically lost 1.2 lbs to make 205 lbs on the nose. Anthony Johnson was the last fighter to weigh-in, and he came in at 203.8 lbs, the same 1.2 lbs margin that dinged Cormier.
Video of the drama can be seen courtesy of MMA Fighting.
High drama at #UFC210 weigh-ins with both men in the main event making weight at the wire! @dc_mma vs @anthony_rumble pic.twitter.com/es10IWkj2L
— MMAFighting.com (@MMAFighting) April 7, 2017
Why was Cormier allowed to weigh-in twice when previous early weigh-ins only allowed one attempt within the two hour window? Well according to the New York State Athletic Commission (with the rule seen here), only championship bout fighters have this privilege.
Here’s NYSAC executive director Tony Giardina explaining why Cormier was allowed to weigh in twice: pic.twitter.com/vxzpcnrT9y
— Ariel Helwani (@arielhelwani) April 7, 2017
“The policy of the athletic commission in championship bouts is to allow fighters to get on the scale a second time if they are overweight the first time they get on the scale,” New York State Athletic Commission executive director Tony Giardina said. “He came in, he was 1.2 pounds overweight the first time he got on the scale. He’s allowed, per commission policy, up to two hours to get back on the scale. He came back a short time after and he weighed in exactly at 205. So according to the commission policy, it’s a legal weigh-in and he’s right on weight.
“For non-championship fights, the policy is that the fighter gets on the scale and if they’re overweight, they can’t leave. They can drop their drawers and get on the scale again – but that would be the final weigh-in. There is a distinction between championship and non-championship fights, and this is a championship fight. We’re following that policy.”
(Transcription via MMAjunkie)
Cormier quite blatantly held down the towel during his second attempt, but the NYSAC said that he wasn’t holding down the towel at all. It’s only a little bit after 12 PM ET and we’re dealing with so much chaos.
What we do know is that Cormier vs. Johnson 2 is official for Saturday night, and Cormier is still the UFC light heavyweight champion.