Web
Analytics

The Best Resource For Mixed Martial Arts MMA

UFC 229 fight card primer: Tony Ferguson vs. Anthony Pettis

24 0

In the co-main event of UFC 229 this Saturday, former interim 155-pound champion Tony Ferguson will fight former champion Anthony Pettis. UFC 229: Khabib vs. McGregor will air live from the T-Mobile Arena in Las Vegas this Saturday, October 6th. The main card will begin on PPV with a start time of 10:00 p.m. ET / 7:00 p.m. PT, the FS1 prelims will start at 8:00 p.m. ET / 5:00 p.m PT, and the early prelims will begin at 6:30 p.m. ET / 3:30 p.m. PT on Fight Pass.

How do these two stack up?

Ferguson: 34 years old | 5’11” | 76” reach
Pettis: 31 years old | 5’10” | 72” reach

What have these two done recently?

Ferguson: W – Kevin Lee (SUB) | W- Rafael dos Anjos (DEC) | W – Lando Vannata (SUB)
Pettis: W – Michael Chiesa (SUB) | L – Dustin Poirier (TKO) | W – Jim Miller (DEC)

How did these two get here?

Five months after the freak injury that forced him out of a title fight against Khabib Nurmagomedov at UFC 223, Tony Ferguson will return to the octagon almost exactly one year after winning the interim lightweight title against Kevin Lee. After his injury Ferguson was stripped of his title, something he expressed his frustration towards in a recent pre-fight interview. “El Cucuy” is currently on a ten-fight winning streak, picking up wins against the likes of Rafael dos Anjos and Edson Barboza before his title win against Lee.

It’s been quite hit and miss for Anthony Pettis inside the octagon after he lost his UFC lightweight title to dos Anjos in 2015. Dropping three straight fights, “Showtime” revived his UFC career with a submission win over the talented grappler Charles Oliveira, but losses against Max Holloway and Dustin Poirier has meant Pettis has recently struggled to put together a string of wins. He will hope to extend his winning streak to two this Saturday night, something he hasn’t done in almost four years.

Why should you care?

This is a massive opportunity for Pettis to essentially leapfrog his way back into title contention at lightweight, but to do that he will have to put an end to Ferguson’s impressive unbeaten run.


Source – link to original article