Did Chas Skelly go out from Bobby Moffett’s D’Arce choke or not?
It didn’t appear Kelly went unconscious or tapped to what was admittedly a tight D’Arce in the second round of their UFC Denver prelim bout on Saturday night.
But referee Tim Mills of the Colorado Combative Sports Commission had the opportunity to review the finish via instant replay at cageside, and after a long review period, he stuck by his call. Moffett earned the victory via TKO at 2:43 in their featherweight matchup.
“Under these circumstances it feels pretty weird,” Moffett said of his official UFC debut. “But just to get in here is a dream come true.”
Moffett was working the D’Arce choke and circling around on the mat to improve his position. In real time at full speed, you could see Skelly relax and his left arm make moves somewhat reminiscent of a tap, making the call in the heat of the moment somewhat understandable.
But Skelly explained afterwards that he was simply relaxing and waiting on the correct moment to make his move, and never lost consciousness, which the slow-motion replay seemed to confirm.
“I extended my arm,” Skelly said. “That created space and I relaxed. I would have tensed up and walked back out. I made my case. They said what they said. I don’t want to take anything away from Bobby.”
Moffett, a Contender Series alum, improved to 14-3 with his 10th career finish. Skelly is now 17-4 after his second consecutive loss.
What did you think of the Bobby Moffett-Chas Skelly call?
The referee made the right call
The referee messed up
0 votes total