THE # 1 SITE FOR Mixed Martial Arts UFC Bellator

Video: Adonis Stevenson gets TKO in rematch vs. Andrzej Fonfara

SHARE
, / 10 0



Article Source – bloodyelbow.com
Video: Adonis Stevenson gets TKO in rematch vs. Andrzej Fonfara

WBC light heavyweight champion Adonis Stevenson easily dispatched Andrzej Fonfara, stopping him in just two rounds.

WBC light heavyweight champion Adonis Stevenson (29-1, 24 KOs) was set up for an utterly pointless rematch against Poland’s Andrzej Fonfara (29-5-1 NC, 17 KOs), on Saturday night at the Bell Centre in Montreal, Quebec, Canada. Stevenson had previously beaten Fonfara by unanimous decision in 2014, having knocked Fonfara down twice before Stevenson was dropped in the ninth round. The scorecards were still pretty comfortably in Stevenson’s favor, at 116-109, 115-110, and 115-110.

On Saturday, Stevenson used his powerful left hand to drop Fonfara and otherwise clubber him in the opening round. After Stevenson bludgeoned Fonfara with a series of left hands to start round 2, Fonfara’s trainer Virgil Hunter had seen enough and told referee Michael Griffin to stop the fight.

You can watch the ending at the top of the page.

“There was no need to continue,” Hunter said in the post-fight (via BoxingScene). “He was hurt in the first round. He survived, but even when he came back to the corner he wasn’t all the way there. I told him in the second round, ‘Don’t even throw a punch. Just defend until you get yourself back.’ These things happen. I thought he was doing quite well until he fell in and got caught with a punch.”

The highs of Fonfara’s 2015, a year in which he stopped Julio Cesar Chavez Jr. and defeated Nathan Cleverly, have since been offset by his last three outings. He suffered a stunning 1st round KO loss vs. Joe Smith Jr, then “earned” his rematch vs. Stevenson by rallying late to finish a very shopworn Chad Dawson.

Stevenson is supposed to fight Eleider Alvarez (23-0, 11 KOs) next, after Alvarez defeated Jean Pascal by majority decision in the co-main event… unless Alvarez agrees to a step-aside yet again.


Source – link to original article